Chimnwendum
3 min readNov 15, 2021

--

TALK YOUR NONSENSE

“Talk nonsense but talk your nonsense” I got this from a YouTube video I watched, you can check out the page @Freedomofthought. I was unable to understand it at first because it sounded weird but after letting it sink in and with the little my brain have been able to come up with I think there is gold in that statement.

I want a roadmap about my life, yunno something to serve as a guide as I glide through life but is that even possible? A road map is only true for the moment and like he said “give it enough time and the mountains and trees will make way for the river” and only useful when you know the beginning and the end of a journey.

My life began 20 something years ago, when will it end? I don’t know and I don’t care. I just want to make the most out of my stay here, Am I worrying too much about my life’s purpose? Yes, I am. So having a roadmap is really impossible.

*stop worrying about your life’s purpose*

So what should I do? Who should I listen to?
I don't know too. It always feels like people are trying to live their lives through you, trying to shove their beliefs and values down your throat.

*it’s okay to say I DON’T KNOW*

I want to live life on my own terms and at the same time play it safe but that’s like eating your cake and having it, you either eat the cake or have it ( what am I rambling about?)

*Pick a side*

I have tried both options and here are my honest reviews; Playing it safe is safe but suffocating because deep down you know you can do better but you are being confined by you, people, beliefs, religion, societal construct etc and your spend your time wondering what’s outside the self imposed prison you have created for yourself.
Now, Living life on your terms keeps you on your toes because you never know what’s going to happen, you are going to make alot of mistakes and probably regret some if not all but it’s liberating and for someone who is in recovery from people pleasing it’s like a breathe of fresh air.

*people pleasing is self sabotage*

Play it safe or Live life on your own terms?

You alone get to answer that, only your answer is valid. Maybe 5 years from now, whatever path you chose could be wrong but wouldn’t it be less painful knowing you chose that path and you weren’t forced to go through it?

There is no guarantee in life, none. Everyone shares what works for them and that doesn't mean it will work for you.

My advice?

Live life on your terms. However you choose to. If you win, it's your win. If you lose, it's your loss. Talk nonsense but talk your own nonsense. The last time I checked, success is relative *winks*

I hope I take my own advice. As always, take what works for you and leave the rest. The world is filled with too much information already.

--

--